The Satellite Awards have announced their 2007 nominations.

Mad Men has been nominated for best dramatic series (along with The Riches, Dexter, Friday Night Lights, Grey’s Anatomy, and Brothers and Sisters).

According to Variety, Mad Men is also getting a Special Acheivement Award for “Best Ensemble, Television,” but I can’t find it on the Satellite Awards nominee page.

How does MM stack up against the competition? Roberta can tell you all about how uneven The Riches is. Grey’s Anatomy has jumped the shark (the past few episodes have been top notch, after a disasterously stupid 2+ months of this season, and sucking most of last season). My friends tell me Dexter is the best thing on television, but I don’t get Showtime so I wouldn’t know. I hated the first episode of Brothers & Sisters (hated!) and never watched again. I’ve never seen Friday Night Lights.

But hey, let’s talk movies. I have seen exactly zero of the “Comedy or Musical” nominees (Hairspray, Juno, Shoot ‘Em Up, Lars and the Real Girl, Knocked Up) but I’ve seen four of the six movie nominees (The Lookout, Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, Away From Her, and 3:10 to Yuma), plus my friend and I have a date to see a fifth (No Country for Old Men). All the ones I’ve seen are good contenders. I imagine the Coen brothers or the Lumet film will take home most awards, but of the ones I’ve seen, I have to vote for 3:10 to Yuma, which was the most overall satsifying, solidly made, and well-structured. Second choice would be The Lookout. GODS do I love Joseph Gordeon-Levitt.