AMC is allowing that the beginning of season 2 in 1962 is officially leaked, and has posted a 1962 trivia quiz on their Mad Men blog. (I scored 11/15).

As mentioned in our reporting on the New York Times article, JWT will have a ten-second advertisement inside the new DVD release. Here’s an article about that, complete with cool picture, from Brandweek.

Media Bistro has an amusing take on George Lois and the Times Magazine article.

We confess that we watch each episode twice, once with the sound on and then again on mute, so as to better contemplate the stellar sets, vintage props, and bold-hued womenswear…

DVD Reviews abound! Why oh why didn’t we get a review copy? Sniff. Why oh why haven’t I got my contest prize yet? SNIFF! (I got a note from AMC on June 27 that my contest-prize DVD is in the mail. So yay. But sniff.)

Overwhelmingly positive reviews can be read at:

Hollywood Reporter did a roundtable (on June 3, but I didn’t see it until hullaballoo pointed it out) of showrunners on how they dealt with the WGA strike and other things. Matt Weiner is one such showrunner.

Movie Web is thrilled with “10 new photos” of season 2. They all seem to be the ones we had a month ago. But maybe I’m confused, because no matter what I click, I only see 3 photos.

AfterEllen.com has a juicy article on Mad Men’s women, including Carol, which mentions both the Times article and the DVD release.

Watching Peggy move from secretary to lead character Don Draper, to a woman with her own secretary at the end of the first series’ 13-episode run, was possibly one of the most satisfying arcs I have ever seen for a female character.

The article’s author doesn’t realize Joan was being snarky when she said Peggy would have a secretary. Nonetheless, the character arc is pretty damn amazing.

I live in suburban New York, but a Mad Men fan in LA reports seeing a Mad Men billboard. Yippee!

I’m not going to mention the gazillion articles that mention that Mad Men is officially on the Emmy shortlist, because it was enough weeding through them looking for real news. But it’s worth noting that the TV Decoder of the New York Times has a column thinking over each show’s chances.

A 16-page July Preview section of Entertainment Weekly mentions Mad Men’s ratings war with Burn Notice, but doesn’t give Mad Men its own page, which confuses me.

