As we’ve blogged before, Mad Men’s own Ann Dudek has absolutely stolen the season. I was all about how House had jumped the shark, and I was about to drop it from my DVR subscriptions, but she waltzed in on infinitely long legs and saved the series.

I don’t want to give away anything that happened, it was amazing and, while this blog spoils Mad Men left and right, no one comes here expecting House spoilers. As an episode of House, the writing was top-notch, the willingness to explore new character directions was laudable, and I was on the edge of my seat.

But Ann Dudek. Wow. It’s not giving anything away to say she both plays the character of Amber (aka Cut-Throat Bitch) and a dream version of Amber, so that she’s in various stages of real and imagined throughout the episode. She is by turns gorgeous and glamorous, ordinary and focused, vulnerable and tender, all thanks to superb acting and hey that makeup department.

I believe we know she’ll be back in season 2 Mad Men (do we know that? Should I double-check that?). I am so looking forward to seeing her work there.

