I sat down to watch The Wheel again last night. Figured it would be extra fun after reading the script and all. The ones I have saved on my DVR are from the second straight-through run of the season.

Let’s remember this: They showed season one at 10 and “encore presentations” at 11. Then they showed a few episodes (I think it was 1, 2, 5, 6, 10–13). Then they showed the full season straight through again.

Roberta and I discovered they were cutting the encore presentations. Cutting! The very first day the episode was run. CUTTING.

Last night I discovered that the second run of season 1 was cut further. Further! I want to smoosh their little AMC faces with pie, I really do. The episode felt noticeably truncated. Over too quick. Brief. Fleeting. Choppy. Smoosh their faces, I tell you!

Here’s what I mean, using one scene as an example. Seriously, don’t read this if you have a weak stomach.

Original run: Pete gets roped into a reproduction discussion with his father-in-law. Father-in-law indicates that a bun in the oven would get Pete the Clearasil account. That night in bed, Pete pressures Trudy into unprotected sex (the infamous “deleted scene“).

Encore presentation: Pete gets roped into a reproduction discussion with his father-in-law. Father-in-law indicates that a bun in the oven would get Pete the Clearasil account.

Second run of the season: Pete gets roped into a reproduction discussion with his father-in-law.

Period. That’s it.

Fuck.

