Sometimes I write birthday odes. I am trying to stop. There is no way in hell I’m doing them for all the actors in this series. Or even for any others. Just this one.

Richard Sommer was born on my favorite day
When thoughts of spring are first allowed to come out and play

He blogs about things that are funny and quirky
Like scary book covers or some kind of annual meat turkey

Rich is a junior (or is it a second?)
(I’m a Jew so this info is infrequently beckoned)

His daughter Beatrice is among the cutest humans alive
If on a date with her, my nephew Benjamin would drive

Okay I might have made the ode a little about me here and there.

Re, the SAGs: “It’s good just to be in the running”
But the Lovely Virginia was a date beyond stunning.

Richard Sommer seems like one very sweet man
Who remains courteous to me despite the fact I’m a fan

Even glasses and man-panties can’t make him look nerdy
So please raise a glass to Rich on the day he turns thirty

vg-happy-birthday.jpg
Unfortunately I don’t have the technology yet to include audio. But Rich, if you’d like a personal recitation, feel free to contact me. My birthday odes, not unlike a Shakespeare play, only really come alive when read aloud.
