Comment on this post at our new digs!

Deborah quoted this section from the Brandweek piece:

There will be some high-profile stunts and outdoor ads that look to spur water cooler chatter. The shuttles between Grand Central Terminal and Times Square in New York will become Mad Men set pieces, with the interiors decorated to evoke Draper’s early 1960s world of men in fedoras and martinis with lunch. The cars will have “chandeliers” on the ceilings, snappy lines of dialogue on the walls and life-size images of Draper himself appearing on the commute.

So I was too busy at work to even read this part. But this morning I get a message from a co-worker’s blackberry (I’m telling you, I have a whole Mad-Men-crazy-girl reputation at work) about the times square-to-grand central shuttle, how it’s plastered with Mad Men.

I’m psyched, because I don’t typically take the shuttle, but I totally can; it gets me where I’m going. And I have been impressed in the past with the amazing wraps that I’ve seen on the S; I do love good advertising.

It was funny, because I get there after work, and I look inside the train, and I don’t see any Mad Men. The co-worker had described it as all over, so I was confused, until I realized there are two trains, and it was probably in the other one. So I actually let the train go, with me not on it, because I must see this thing today.

Ohmygoodness.

It is majestic.

Here is what a subway car looks like normally.
Here is what a subway car looks like normally.

This is the door that connects through to the next car.
This is the door that connects through to the next car.

Please note that all that reflection, those windows that have light coming through; that is all part of the wrap. This is all done with like high-grade, billboard quality contact paper.

This shot shows the ceiling meeting the wall.
This shot shows the ceiling meeting the wall.
Bright ceiling shot. Unreal.
Bright ceiling shot. Unreal.
I love the architecture of the seating and around the window.

I love the architecture of the seating and around the window.

The seat is marble. Where you actually sit.

The seat appears to be marble. Where you actually sit.

The doors, from the inside. See the Grand Central windows?

The doors, from the inside. See the Grand Central windows?

The ceiling meets the wall.

The ceiling meets the wall.

Over the door, as I was exiting.

Over the door, as I was exiting.

I want to live in there.

Seriously, I love this new Grand Central Station campaign. It is beautiful.

Seriously, AMC, or more likely Lionsgate, is finally doing something right. Because do you have any idea how many people shuttle from Times Square to Grand Central every day? Okay me either. Still…

Another wave of the promotion:

People in period costumes (think: lots of pencil skirts) will roam around Grand Central Station vogueing with cigarettes and handing out cards that say Sterling Cooper, the fictional ad agency on the show.

So yeah, I need to figure out when that’s happening and I’ll get over there (I work across the street!) and get some pictures.

Comment on this post at our new digs!

